Screwy Haired Girl

I've got really screwy hair. LOVE IT.

slap me silly!

 

Slap Me Silly

So last weekend, I went to a girlfriend’s bridal shower right after I had my twists done and here are some of the comments/backhanded compliments I got:

  • “So you’re really going dreads now?”
  • “So you’ve now joined DK abi?”
  • “I couldn’t do my hair like that o; I would just be looking rough”
  • “Screwy, the only reason you can pull this off is that you’re fine”

I almost fell out of my chair laughing. Ah, my Nigerian girls. Ain’t they grand?

3 comments on “slap me silly!

  1. Busola
    December 12, 2011

    What salon do you get your natural hair (twists) done? I have natural hair which has grown quite a bit and have to resort to braids or weave-on most times. Would like to find a salon that can handle my natural hair for me properly. Please HEEELLLPPPPP!!!

    • screwyhair
      December 13, 2011

      Hi Busola,

      Sorry been trying to upload my reply since yesterday. (Thanks, WordPress.)

      I do my hair myself for just that reason: Lagos salons don’t know how to handle my hair. I used to go to a local salon where one girl was good enough to not pull out all my hair when she put in Ghana weaving, but she moved to Jos :-( I no longer wear twists, weaves, or braids because I got tired of being dependent on people who didn’t know a fraction of what I know about my hair.

      That said, I’ve got 2 recommendations:

      1. The lovely Omozo at onaturals.blogspot.com tweeted me the number of the lady who did the fab hairdo she had at the meet-up: Kate (08086617756). I haven’t used her, but Omozo gives her high scores.

      2. Learn about your hair, what it likes, and what it cannot stand. It’s hard to totally depend on salons and stylists when you have natural hair because they most likely won’t give your hair the attention you’ll give it. (Plus, you’ll need breaks in between salon hairdos.)

  2. Anonymous
    March 19, 2011

    Grand indeed. Especially youlks.

Join the Conversation

Information

This entry was posted on February 26, 2011 by in Miscellaneous and tagged .

Hola, Amiga/Amigo! Go ahead and click to follow ScrewyHair. You'll get notifications of new posts by email. Thanks!

Join 356 other followers

On Twitter

Favorite Screwy Talk

