Screwy Haired Girl

I've got really screwy hair. LOVE IT.

desperate desperation

(Sorry in advance for my blurry photos. And the excessive use of caps in this post.)

OKAY! LET’S PLAY CATCH-UP!

Been inconveniently sick–as opposed to conveniently so–for a few weeks and my hair was a wreck during that time…as usual.

When I caught a break 3 weeks ago, I tried to Porosity threw a tantrum and tried to give me a nervous breakdown. My fro was dry, dry, dry, and simply REFUSED to absorb all the conditioners, leave-ins, oils, and creams I threw at it, even when I left them in for over FIVE HOURS which would usually leave my hair baby-soft. This was deeply frustrating.

 

So I pulled out every hair oil, cream, and leave-in I could find in the house and started mixing like an unbalanced mad scientist–as opposed to a balanced one. The ingredients, from what I can recall:

  • olive oil
  • jojoba oil
  • shea butter
  • Motions Weightless Clear Hairdressing Cream
  • Profectiv Long n Healthy Anti-Breakage Strengthening Mega-Moisturizer (I love this stuff)
  • Organics Leave-In Hair Mayonnaise
  • Vitale Olive Oil Virgin Hair Oil (that’s what it says)
  • Let’s Jam Leave-In Conditioner (carbon dating was unable to determine what decade this product was purchased in)

Here’s what’s left of the mix:

Hey, I was on a lot of meds. But you know what? IT WORKED. Porosity died a horrible death-by-biological-agent and Hair was released from its desert prison. It was a “wet” mix and I twisted it in. The only downside is the slightly sticky residue, but I’d take residue over dryness ANY DAY.

Now, I don’t recommend this line of action for everyone. As I indicated, desperation played an active role in donning the mad scientist coat. I’m now getting together all-natural ingredients for a new mix. That’s up next.

Join the Conversation

Information

This entry was posted on March 24, 2011 by in Conditioning and tagged , .

Hola, Amiga/Amigo! Go ahead and click to follow ScrewyHair. You'll get notifications of new posts by email. Thanks!

Join 356 other followers

On Twitter

Favorite Screwy Talk

