Screwy Haired Girl

I've got really screwy hair. LOVE IT.

Hair Lesson #2: Be careful with bananas!

Ah, my banana story. I’ve been wanting to tell it for so long. It happened in May and actually triggered a crisis. Before I tell it, here’s the moral of the story: do your homework first! You’ve heard, abi?

I read on one of my favorite hair blogs about using a banana as a deep conditioner. So I sent the help to buy me bananas posthaste. He must not have gone very far because he brought back some miserable-looking dwarf bananas. I didn’t think anything of it; in fact, I thought they’d be even better since they were obviously really ripe. So I proceeded to mash those babies up with my usual honey, coconut oil, olive oil, and a dab of vegetable glycerin.

 It looked so smoothielicious that I excitedly called my son to come and partake of my babanarama goodness. Slapped it in his hair then mine and left it in just an hour, since this boy’s prone to smearing stuff on the sofa.

Time to wash! Hmm, wait a sec–WHY ISN’T THIS THING WASHING OUT???!!! That was how panicked I was. It took me 1.25 hours to get it out of his hair and another 45 to get it out of mine. I then had a crisis that night and I had to got to the hospital LOL.

Poor kid. Felt like a bad momma. Note the exasperation in his cheeks

Here’s what my mother said went wrong: “Darling girl, you used Yoruba bananas. Don’t you know they’re really gummy?” Uh, no, Mom, but thanks for telling me after I’d done it. “Why did you send him to buy bananas? You should have waited till the ones in the garden got ripe.” Apparently, Eastern bananas are what you should use for such things because they’re not gummy at all, but smooth as a baby’s bottom. We grow hybrid bananas and they’re smooth too. If I didn’t hate eating bananas, I may have known this. Kid didn’t lose much hair, but I shed what looked like a ton. Not good. Thank Jah my hair’s not thin, despite what I tell my sis cos hers is uber-full :-)

Again, the lesson here: DO YOUR RESEARCH BEFORE GUNKING UP YOUR HAIR.

6 comments on “Hair Lesson #2: Be careful with bananas!

  1. Chiquita
    February 16, 2014

    Yes! It’s the same Chiquita you know. It’s been ages and I miss the ‘way back’ days.
    I’m laughing so hard right now cos I had the same experience!
    A friend of mine came over to my house with a gigantic bunch of bananas(large igbo bananas btw). The first thought that popped into my head was ‘now I’ve got enough bananas to try that banana conditioner I’ve been been dying to try’. I mixed mine with honey and blended it into a smooth paste. Guess what… I tried it on my daughter’s the day before her birthday(I wanted her to have perfect bday hair. Lol!). Went ahead and thoroughly coated her hair from root to tip with the gooey stuff. Time to wash and you can imagine my horror when it wasn’t coming off. I washed till I gave up. I can’t comb her hair when it’s wet( its really fragile when wet and behaves like relaxed hair sometimes). It turned into a tangled mess. I banded it. Bday- perfect stretched out curls-downside? It looks like her hair hasn’t been washed in 12months! Good thing she’s not old enough to know the difference. Sadly I had to travel the next day and I still haven’t had time to comb the hair so I bantu knotted it and left strict instructions not to comb or redo the hair till I come back. When I got back they’ve combed it and yes they yanked out 4 inches off most of her 8 inch hair.
    That’s my banana disaster.
    I’ll probably strain it next time.

    • screwyhair
      May 21, 2014

      Hey, lady :-)

      Oh, no! But the hair will be back; her daddy’s oh so cute pics of her that I saw a while back make me jealous, so no worries. Thing is, it’s Yoruba bananas I had my disaster with; my mom said Igbo bananas are better cos they’re a while lot less gummy, but I’m too traumatized by my one experience to try a do-over. Once something hair-related goes that badly, I’m apt to never go back to it.

      Great to hear from you!

  2. Dr_fomsky
    March 15, 2012

    My dear, I had a similar experience with banana. I even made a video of my unsuccessful attempt. http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=nDLvHs73Aaw. I decided to post it anyway cos I thought it was funny. Lol

    • screwyhair
      March 19, 2012

      So I’m not the only one. Good to know LOL! Didn’t you want to cry when it wasn’t coming out? What an experience! Will definitely stop by the video. Forgive me in advance if I laugh o :-)

  3. curious kinks
    February 9, 2012

    sorry to hear about your oops moment. I had a similar experience with my first try at a banana hair treatment. except i just went ahead, twisted my hair for the rest of the week. and by the end of the week, those bananas just slipped off with the wash. I was at fault, mashed the bananas, instead of just blending them in the blender. I intend to try this method for my next hair treatment and if i get the same “oops” moment, then i know my hair doesn’t like banana treatments. btw, i used a “regular” banana which i think was imported from south america to China. so def not a “yoruba” banana, and i’m yoruba!

    • screwyhair
      February 9, 2012

      Ah, so I’m not the only one :-) Glad you found a solution that helped you avoid a back ache! I don’t think I’ll be trying bananas on my hair again, though–developed a full-fledged phobia now–but I might try it as a facial treatment or something.

Join the Conversation

Information

This entry was posted on September 30, 2011 by in Conditioning, Recipes, Resources and tagged , , , , , , .
