Screwy Haired Girl

I've got really screwy hair. LOVE IT.

Hair Lesson #3: KISS – Keep It Simple Sweetie! My New Regimen

Yes, people. I’ve learned to keep things simple. I started this blog with some somewhat complicated hair regimens, but this is a learning experience for me and it’s taken till now to find something that works for me, my health, my time, and my occasional laziness. Here’s what I do:

  1. Co-wash, clarify, and deep condition every 2-4 weeks: I still co-wash with VO5 because it’s cheap (N300-400 per bottle at Spar, Park n Shop, and Shoprite), ready available, and effective for co-washing. Any flavor will do. I then follow by clarifying with diluted apple cider vinegar, about a 1/4 cup in a full 1.5-liter bottle of distilled/drinking water. Then it’s the deep conditioner: I’ve modified my deep conditioner mix to comprise just honey, vegetable glycerin, and coconut oil, then I wear it for as long as I can, which can be anywhere from 2-8 hours. (Been in my hair about 4.5 hours now and dripping like a mother…licking it up cos it’s au naturale, people! No, I’m just hungry.) If you decide to do a honey deep conditioner, make sure you dry your hair as well as you can before putting in the honey mix because it will drip. I also wrap it up in a shower cap, a plastic shopping bag, and then a towel. The combo makes the dripping more manageable–it’ll always drip–and generate heat for a deeper conditioning.

    Honey DC mix is in + 1st wrap up layer's coming on: shower cap

    2nd wrap up layer: plastic shopping bag. Twist it tight!

    Final wrap up layer: hand towel. Pretty turban, don't you think?

    Neat moisture trick: When I take the shower cap off, I massage in some of my Forever Living Products Aloe-Jojoba Conditioner for a few minutes and my hair “plumps” up. It gets really soft like you wouldn’t believe

  2. Butter up + stretch it out: Next, I work in a little Motions CPR Triple Action Leave-In Conditioner, a very healthy amount of my hair butter mix (shea butter, olive oil, coconut oil, jojoba oil, and glycerin) and oil mix (olive oil, jojoba oil, and coconut oil) as I gently detangle (with a wide-toothed comb) and twist my hair. Some detangle in the shower or when co-washing but I prefer to manipulate it as little as possible and for me this means when I’m twisting. Plus, all the stuff I put in at this stage give the hair great slip, so I don’t shed as much as when I do it with conditioner in it.
  3. Protective style it AND KEEP OUT: I work mostly from home these days, so I can afford to simply tuck in my twists like a Calabar girl :-) and only free my hair when I have to go out for meetings or meet-ups. Even if you’re tempted to run your fingers through your luscious locks, try to resist it. While I was sick for weeks, my fingers ignored my hair and I noticed I retained much more length than when I was always all up in there. Since my big chop 4 months ago, I’ve grown about 2 inches more hair and I believe it’s because I left it alone. The shea butter was thick enough to stay in for weeks and weeks and tucking in my ends preserved them marvelously well.

    June 2, 2011: Looking kinda jacked cos this was middle of twisting

    Today: I see some growth!

    Yep, definitely growth there :-)

    5 inches, y'all! That's about 2.5 inches in 5 months. Yay!

  4. Don’t go too crazy–use what you can find: Lagos is a hard place for a screwy-haired girl. It’s a Brazilian weave town, so it’s always short on all those supplies we all read about on hair blogs. But one thing we do have here–and in Nigeria–that naturalistas abroad don’t have lots of is guaranteed natural products. What I mean is this: we’re so much closer to the shea butter growers than they are and we’ve got coconuts everywhere. You might have to jump through some hoops to get some other stuff, but these two are a great place to begin or just be. DK, who lives in America, was gushing about how great the shea butter I sent her is. “The one I bought online did nothing, but when I put yours in, my hair was so soft!” And she used it on its own–she hadn’t even mixed it up yet. Also, we’ve got lots of cheap conditioners for co-washing.

    my current VO5 co-wash conditioners

    Forever Living Products Aloe-Jojoba Conditioning Rinse

    Honey DC Mix

    Diluted apple cider vinegr (1/4 cup to 1.5 liters of distilled/drinking water)

  5. Moisture + humidity are your friends: Yes, you read right. You know our hair is always thirsty. I used to hate moisture and humidity, but ever since I big chopped to rediscover the real texture of my hair, and ever since I got me some vegetable glycerin, I can’t wait to (as a secondary school teacher used to say) open the window and let the atmosphere jump in. I love the coily texture of my hair, which the moisture in my spray bottle and in the air enhances. Also, I’ve found that when glycerin pulls moisture into my hair and makes it shrink a bit, it also gives it great curl definition. Random people now ask all the time if I have a texturizer in. Moisturize, people. MOISTURIZE.
  6. Just a couple supplements help lots: I always take a bunch of other meds, but I really only got serious about supplements this year. I keep it simple, though: Centrum Multivitamin (or whatever Wal-Mart or CVS’s equivalent generic is) and Biotin (3000mcg daily). I believe these have given my hair a boost, especially during my frequent sick days when I can’t do anything with my hair. And I’ve heard on youtube that Biotin is probably partly responsible for the new shine. While you do this, though, make sure you drink lots of water. Water is only good for you and your hair.

This is what I do and it’s worked for me. Might not be your cup o’ Joe, but it doesn’t hurt to find a way to Keep It Simple. Sweetie.

10 comments on “Hair Lesson #3: KISS – Keep It Simple Sweetie! My New Regimen

  1. cherie
    March 2, 2013

    Hi nike,I wanted to ask.pls does d homemade coconut oil get spoilt,when not refrigerated.how about adding vit e n vit c as preservatives.

    • screwyhair
      March 6, 2013

      Yes, it does go bad after a few months if not refrigerated and/or not infused with preservatives. Vitamin E oil will keep it longer, but always do the sniff test to know if it’s usable or has gone rancid. You’ll know if it’s rancid. It’ll smell awful.

    • screwyhair
      March 6, 2013

      And thanks for coming by, Cherie! (Love your name, btw.)

  2. curious kinks
    February 9, 2012

    your honey DC mix had a straw in it, were you planning on drinking the left over :p. I am not faithful when it comes to taking supplements, but i don’t see the effect when i take them consistently for about a week or two. I just let nature take its course.

    • screwyhair
      February 9, 2012

      LOL, I don’t remember where that straw came from, to be honest.

      Supplements are great, but if you can’t take them consistently, might as well invest the cash in something else. Like shoes :-)

  3. Nat.
    October 15, 2011

    Good advice!! Keep it SIMPLE!
    Your towel turban looks good :)

  4. DK
    October 3, 2011

    Yep, have been exercising regularly lately, as hard as it is to imagine.

    I did the DC before co-washing because I didn’t feel like getting my hair wet first and compounding the dripping. And I figured that since the DC would be washed out anyway, it wouldn’t hurt if I did it first. Plus it seems similar to a pre-shampoo aka pre-poo.

  5. DK
    October 2, 2011

    Did a modified honey deep conditioner: First I put in coconut oil (as a moisturizer) all over my hair, exercised, and took a nap. Then I put in honey+some olive oil+2/3 of an egg for about an hour and then added conditioner (Garnier Fructis Triple Nutrition) and left in for about 15 mins after that. I rinsed it all out and then co-washed with V05. My hair felt fantastic, and I actually shed a lot less. (I usually shed a lot, but it doesn’t bother me.)

    Then I added the shea butter mix from one of your later posts (and of course some leave-in) and twisted my hair. Detangling was almost unnecessary and the twists look nice and shiny.

    Thanks for the tips. I think I will keep to this regimen for now.

    By the way, the egg made the honey mix very drippy, but I hadn’t done a protein conditioner for a while so it was worth it.

    • screwyhair
      October 3, 2011

      You exercised??! :-)

      I also put in oil before I co-washed. I used lots of olive oil to gently detangle, then co-washed.

      Hmm, DC’ing before co-washing. I’d think that washing after DC’ing would wash away all the hard work of the DC, but it worked for you. Hunh. Definitely trying your DC next time. I also love that you didn’t have to leave it in for hours and hours like I usually do, although I think the added time works for my hair. I haven’t used an egg in a while (because I’m too lazy to deal with the excessive dripping), but I’ll do one next wash. I much prefer the egg to a protein conditioner because protein conditioners just make my hair feel so hard and rough, while the egg makes it soft and smooth.

      Glad this was helpful and thank YOU for YOUR tips!

Join the Conversation

Information

This entry was posted on September 30, 2011 by in Conditioning, Hair Love, Resources and tagged , , , , , , , .
