Screwy Haired Girl

I've got really screwy hair. LOVE IT.

Recipe: Body Butter

(Update 2: I’ve taken down my hair butter recipe, since I now sell it. Sorry!)

(Update 1: I’ve edited the recipes to put all measurements in cups and tablespoons.)

Done lots of posting today. I promise to be back soon. Before I head out, I want to leave you with my 2 new favorite recipes.

This is from my last batch and I think I got it! My mom (aka Hot Mama) and the kid love this mix as much as I do, and DK’s asked for the hair butter recipe. We now all use all natural butters for hair and body only. Wondering who to give my regular lotions to now :-(

Hair Butter

Hair butter (thicker than body butter)

Body Butter

Body butter (lighter than hair butter): shea butter + olive oil + glycerin

Shea butter is absorbed beautifully into the skin. Since moving back to Nigeria, I’ve gone without lotion many days because all store-bought lotions I’ve used just sit on the skin and make me uncomfortably hot. Shea butter, however, is nothing like this. I thought at first that because it’s heavy, it would be uncomfortable but I couldn’t be more wrong. My skin loves this mix and looks delish :-) I love the smell of shea butter and I wear body splashes, anyway, so I don’t put essential oils in it to cover up the smell. You can do this if you prefer.

  • 2 cups shea butter
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon glycerin
  • 1 tablespoon jojoba oil (optional)

Throw it all in your blender and blend till silky smooth (or till you’re fine with it). Store in an opaque container in a cool place, but refrigeration isn’t needed.

Enjoy!

Toodles.

19 comments on “Recipe: Body Butter

  1. oby
    April 9, 2013

    I love this post….. Please I will like to know how to make the coconut oil please email me obylyn2000@yahoo.com

  2. Abisola Babalola
    February 18, 2013

    Hello! I’m Nigerian but i live in the Uk and i’m trying to get my hand on everything u have ever prescribed! Thank you ever so muchhh! I never thot Nigerian hair could ever grow…Thank You! God bless you ever so much! thank you!

    • screwyhair
      February 23, 2013

      Whoops! The Feb 18 reply was for you LOL. Really glad to have helped! Good that you live in the UK; you don’t have to scour the dark, dodgy streets of Lagos for ingredients and products, or have to depend on travel shopping. So stock up on what you can and enjoy!

  3. car collecting
    February 12, 2013

    Great post. I used to be checking constantly this blog and I’m inspired! Extremely useful information particularly the final part :) I maintain such information a lot. I used to be looking for this particular info for a long time. Thanks and good luck.

    • screwyhair
      February 16, 2013

      Oh, thanks! So glad to be of help. Enjoy the butter!

    • screwyhair
      February 20, 2013

      Thank you! Glad you find it useful.

  4. African Natruralista
    November 10, 2011

    I did this, but got the calculations wrong. All I have is one watery substance. I will have to do it again.

    • screwyhair
      November 10, 2011

      Which recipe did you try?

      Even if your measurements are off, the ingredients are all good for your hair or skin. Try refrigerating the mix, so it solidifies. In our high Lagos heat, the butters will liquefy; whenever I come home on a hot day, my body butter (which has more olive oil than the hair butter and has been sitting in a room with the a/c off all day) is usually a little runny. Don’t be afraid! That makes it even easier to apply :-) Just keep it in the fridge if you prefer it solid all the time.

  5. funmi
    October 24, 2011

    and thanks for the post on coconut oil. u made it look easy
    might try it out but would honestly rather buy :-)

    • screwyhair
      October 24, 2011

      You’re quite welcome, Funmi. LOL, I know what you mean o, but I’d rather use the one that comes out of my kitchen because I’m 100% sure of what’s in it.

      By the way, whenever you do get some coconut oil, keep it in a tub-type container and store it in your fridge or freezer. The container will make it easy to scoop it out, so you don’t have to warm it up each time you want to use it.

      Also, don’t microwave natural oils/butters when you want to liquefy them because microwaving will kill off a lot of the nutrients and some butters (like shea butter) will become a bit grainy when they solidify. Put the container in a bowl of hot water instead. Takes just a few minutes.

    • screwyhair
      November 10, 2011

      Hi again, Funmi,

      I’ll have some hair butter for sale at the natural hair meet-up, if you still want to buy something.

      • funmi
        November 10, 2011

        Tnx, that will be a good idea. Just hope I can be there cos I’ve started lectures :( . Anyway till that day; at least I’ve got sth to look fwd to. Thank you

  6. funmi
    October 24, 2011

    hi, lovely post. please where is Zebra Living?, would like to buy coconut oil(too lazy to prepare); heard the weather affects the production of coconut oil and that its not readily available now cos of the rains. Also, where can i get jojoba oil in Nigeria?i also herad olive oil makes the skin appear darker? is this true
    would surely try the mix above, but can i use the same blender i use for cooking???????????

    • screwyhair
      October 24, 2011

      Thanks!

      Zebra Living’s on Sinari Daranijo St, off Younis Bashorun St, off Ajose Adeogun, VI. Saw some oil there this week. They’ve got a website, I believe. (Google it.) Always ensure that the oil you’re buying is fresh, wherever it is you get it. It should still smell a bit like freshly-baked cake.

      Makes sense that coconut oil will be weather-dependent here; when you have coconuts in season, you’ll have coconut oil.

      Sorry, I don’t know where to get jojoba oil in Lagos; I get mine overseas.

      I don’t believe olive oil does that. There’s a lot of olive oil in the body butter mix I’ve used everyday for the last 6 months almost and it hasn’t darkened my skin. (Though I’d be grateful for a tan if it did.) The mix just makes my skin feel better than it ever did with store-bought lotions. So never fear! :-)

      Yep, I use my kitchen blender because I haven’t gotten a hand mixer yet. Use baking soda and water to wash out your blender first in order to get rid of whatever tatase smell is lurking in there :-) Or if you’re real gangsta and not lazy like me, you can use a whisk to beat it the old-fashioned way.

  7. funmi
    October 20, 2011

    but where can i get coconut oil to buy in nigeria????

    • screwyhair
      October 20, 2011

      I actually make it at home because I can’t find any coconut oil I can trust in Lagos. I once got some as a gift from my tailor who’d heard me talking about it, but it smelled like rotting meat LOL! She was so happy she’d found it for me that I didn’t have the heart to tell her :-( She bought it in a market and said that they mix it with other oils. When you make it yourself, you know what you’re getting. Natural Nigerian and I were at Zebra Living earlier today and they had some coconut oil. Coconut oil can be pricey, though, primarily because it takes a lot of coconuts to make a small amount of the oil.

      If you’re interested in the process of making coconuts, I can do a post on it.

  8. funmi
    October 20, 2011

    wow, this is so cool, always used the shea butter hard like that
    will surely try this out
    thanks

    • screwyhair
      October 20, 2011

      Great! I hope you like the butter. Do let me know how it goes, Funmi.

  9. Pingback: Whipped Shea Butter

Join the Conversation

Information

This entry was posted on September 30, 2011 by in Oils + Butters, Recipes, Resources and tagged , , .

Hola, Amiga/Amigo! Go ahead and click to follow ScrewyHair. You'll get notifications of new posts by email. Thanks!

Join 357 other followers

On Twitter

Favorite Screwy Talk

