Screwy Haired Girl

I've got really screwy hair. LOVE IT.

Let’s Meet-Up this Saturday!

The meet-up’s just 2 days away–can you believe it?–and it’s never to late to ask:

What would you like to talk about or learn at this meet-up? Why would you like to attend?

Please share your thoughts!

3 comments on “Let’s Meet-Up this Saturday!

  1. funmi
    November 17, 2011

    What’s the best natural product for the face. I’ve got acne spots and lots of bumps on my face. Tired of using chemicals. Looking for a natural lasting solution to a smooth and spot free face…

    • screwyhair
      November 17, 2011

      The meet-up’s about hair, but the health and nutrition part of it is applicable to skin (in that you’ve got to feed your hair and skin from the inside). There are, however, specific causes of acne. I’m no dermatologist, but I can tell you my experience:

      Sometimes we react to the makeup we use. I love Mac, but my skin doesn’t, so I went back to the light CoverGirl powder of my teenage years.

      Another cause is not drinking enough water and drinking too many sodas. I can tell you that my skin does well when I’m drinking the 12 8-oz. glasses of water a day I’m supposed to drink and when I slack off and replace water with too much of my beloved Coca-Cola, I start to break out. My mom also had bad skin when we were growing up, but now she finishes the dispenser water in 3 days and her skin has never been better.

      Sometimes, it’s hormonal (which is why a lot of women break out during their periods). About 7 or 8 years ago, I had really bad acne–think huge, painful pimples–as a result of Depo-Provera (birth control shots) throwing my hormones out of whack. I didn’t find this out, though, until I saw a dermatologist. You might want to see one; sometimes, acne can only be effectively controlled with topical and oral meds.

      I used Clearasil from age 13 to my late 20’s, but now that I drink a lot more water and my hormones are no longer too out of whack, I now just wash with Clinique soap (oily skin) or Cetaphil.

      That’s my two cents :-)

      • funmi
        November 24, 2011

        Thank you. Nice advice I would say. Will try drinking loads of water cos I don’t take too much now. Thanks again

Join the Conversation

Information

This entry was posted on November 17, 2011 by in Meet-Up and tagged .

Hola, Amiga/Amigo! Go ahead and click to follow ScrewyHair. You'll get notifications of new posts by email. Thanks!

Join 357 other followers

On Twitter

Favorite Screwy Talk

